Facebook Changes Location Settings on Android to Reassure Users
As Facebook faces even more questions about how it tracks and utilizes audience data, The Social Network has this week sought to address one particular element in order to reassure users of their control in this respect.
As per Facebook, the company is changing the way it uses Location Services on Android, which tracks where users are at any given time, and can do so even when the app is active in the background, in order to let users dictate when, specifically, that capacity is being used.
As per Facebook:
"Today we’re introducing a new background location control on Facebook for Android so people can choose if they want us to collect location information when they’re not using the app. For example, when people choose to use Nearby Friends, a feature that lets friends share their locations with each other, they give Facebook permission to access their location even when they’re not using the app. Until today, people using these features were asked to enable Location History. If you enabled this setting, two things happened: you would share your location when you weren’t using the app and you would allow Facebook to store a history of your precise locations. With this update, you’ll have a dedicated way to choose whether or not to share your location when you aren’t using the app."
Original source: https://www.socialmediatoday.com/