Facebook is Experimenting with Deleting Data on Individual Stories Viewers

This is quite intriguing, to say the least. Some Facebook users claim that the social network is experimenting with a new approach that would limit your ability to see who has viewed your Facebook Story to those who have reacted to or commented on each frame of the story.


For some Facebook users, as seen in this screenshot shared by user Elodie Flenniau, this means they will no longer receive a complete list of Stories viewers. This means that random people who come across your Facebook Stories can see them without you knowing, and quietly monitor your Stories content without being identified. Until now, Facebook has supplied a complete list of your Stories viewers, along with any Reactions they have assigned to each of your Stories frames.


While Facebook doesn't reveal who's looked at your profile, it appears to be doing the same with Stories. So it sounds like Facebook wants to make it possible for people who aren't connected to you on the network to see your public Stories, which isn't creepy in the traditional sense. Use the 'Friends only' feature when posting something you don't want possible stalkers to see. However, something is unnerving about it.



So far, we have no idea why Facebook is considering the change. We reached out to the social network for further information about the test, but we have yet to hear back. However, it appears that Facebook is attempting to allay user anxiety by letting them know who has precisely viewed their Stories content. However, the public should be aware, correct? It's useful to know who's looking at your posts, but if your new coworker is looking at your vacation photos, that's a little odd and could cause a rift at work, even if it's a relatively innocent move.


That's probably what Facebook wants to avoid: situations where someone is looking at your content and it makes you uncomfortable, even if the viewer has no malicious intent. By displaying your former acquaintances who are monitoring your Stories updates, it could also compound the psychological impact.


Is it a good idea to stop using that data? What I'm trying to say is... The vast majority of the time, this is innocuous, but things may become weird, and if you're worried about being exposed, you can make your Stories private. However, if it is extended to all Story categories, it could restrict brand insight, which could limit your research potential.



1 view0 comments

Discover Roundabout's free reporting tool for every social media campaign

More Roundabout

Never miss an update

Thanks for submitting!

Download the app

Apple and Android

apple_google_edited.png
apple_google_edited.png